Archive for May 28, 2007

10 Very Random Things About Me

I have officially been tagged by Patty for 10 random things about me. Random? What does that really mean? According to Webster it means having no specific pattern or objective; haphazard. It got me thinking about how haphazard events can shape someone into the person they are today. All of these accidental events molded the person I am today, some more, some less, some good, some bad. These chance events (now documented) have a whole story to go with each one which I will share in later posts.

Here goes!

1. I have experienced many tornadoes first hand.

2. I shook President Eishenhower’s hand through a chain link fence when I was six years old.

3. I have memories of visiting several family-type bomb shelters and the famous “duck and cover” campaign in the late 50’s and early 60’s cold war.

4. I experienced two life-changing events for me, first with my mother and then my father. My mother reported a single mom who lived down the street from us for child abuse.This was prompted by my asking innocent child questions like “Why is that little girl always so clean and pretty and her brother is always very dirty?” Late one very hot summer night my family heard a loud commotion behind our house in the alley. I remember all my family going to investigate this loud carrying on, it was the 60’s! It was a husband and wife with several little kids and the husband was beating the heck out of his wife. My father grab the idiot and cold decked him out with one punch while my mother called the police.

5. My grandmother was a nurse at the local hospital. One day she asked me if I would like to visit a little girl close to my age (8) who needed some company while she was in the hospital. Of course, I said yes. Karen and I became very good friends and I would visit her two times a week. We would play games, dolls, paperdolls. I would read books to her, one of the books I read was Little House on the Prairie. Karen had leukemia and past away after about 8 months of our meeting.

6. I had many guy friends in high school. Two of these friends were killed in the Vietnam War.

7. My first husband and I went on a road trip to Tucson and Old Mexico when I was 16 years old. Have I got some stories to tell!!! Oy!

8. My first job at 19 was a social worker for the Headstart Program in Nowata County.

9. My house was flooded with 8 feet of water in October of 1986.

10. I was a member of a hot air balloon crew and got to go up for a ride early one morning.

Were those random enough? I bet you can’t wait for all those really interesting stories! Right? Well, don’t hold your breathe! Brittney and Paris will be in the news again soon for your drama fix; they are far more interesting than me. I can’t remember the last time I went out without my panties!

Thanks, Patty! Now I have plenty of fodder for blogging, especially next time I misplace my blogging mojo.

May 28, 2007 at 11:59 pm 1 comment


May 2007
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Flickr Photos

Blog Oklahoma