Archive for February 11, 2007

Jelly and Jam

In 1978 I won the Ball Canning Award at the Nowata County Fair. The Ball Canning Award (the Ball Company produce Ball Canning Jars) was given for the top canning entries in the area of Home Extension Groups. One of the canned items I made was Wild Plum Jelly. Wild Plum Trees grow around this area, bloom white in the Spring and the fruits are tiny and sour. The fruit makes delicious jelly. I have made many kinds of pickles, relishes, jam and jelly. I would rather freeze vegetables and fruits than to can them, much easier and less time consuming.

I have plans to pick strawberries and blueberries this Summer, I will freeze some and make jam with some. Local farms have areas set aside for people to pick their own fruit. A good jelly to make during the winter:

Cinnamon Apple Jelly

  • 4 cups Apple Juice
  • 1-2 1/2 oz package of powdered fruit pectin
  • Red Food Coloring
  • 4 1/2 cups sugar
  • 5 Tablespoon Red Cinnamon Candies

Prepare your glass jars before starting to make the jelly, see instructions after the recipe. Combine apple juice, pectin and several drops of red food coloring in large pan. Bring to a hard boil. Stir in sugar and candies. bring again to a full rolling boil; boil hard for two minutes. Stirring constantly(do not leave the pan!!!!) Remove from heat and skim off foamy top. Save this for the next morning’s breakfast. Pour into hot, scalded jars; put on rubber seal tops immediately and turn tight. Makes about 8 pint jars.

  1. Make your own labels on the computer, like “Made by Suzan” or you can buy many different types of labels.
  2. There are also many decorative type jars available.
  3. All kinds of jam, relishes, jelly make excellent gifts.
  4. Caution: The jelly is HOT, be careful and this is not an activity for small children!! Use your good judgment!

This is the way I prepare my glass containers for jelly:

  • Use glass containers made for very hot temperatures. 
  • Wash glass containers in dishwasher using the extra heat setting.
  • Set jars on kitchen towel and pour hot water into them, let set for a few minutes. Pour out the water and dry just before making jelly.
  • Put canning rings and tops in pan with very hot water, use tongs to get the tops out for use.
  • Again, use caution in all your preparations.

I generally use less sugar than the recipe states, less sugar is healthier and Mr. Soulmate is diabetic.

Sometimes after the jelly has cooled, I use fabric (matching the labels) to decorate the jars. I take the canning ring and add 1 1/2 inches to the diameter to make the pattern. I also use pinking shears to cut the circles of fabric. Unscrew the ring and put the fabric over the sealed lid then put ring back on. The jelly needs to be cooled off and sealed, so I usually wait a couple of days. I do not want to unseal the Jelly! The fabric can be seasonal; like Summer, Fall, Halloween, Christmas, etc.

OK, OK, (now I am excited, recycling, you know) then the giftee can use the jar for a pin cushion after enjoying the jelly. He or she (no gender bias here) can put cotton stuffing under the fabric, hot glue it down, cover with backing of felt. The jar can be used for buttons, needles, thread, etc.

Did I really write 1978? That was probably before some of you were born! But I have enjoyed every age and I am really enjoying my fifties. You know they say the fifties are the new thirties!

February 11, 2007 at 1:10 am 2 comments


February 2007
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Flickr Photos

Blog Oklahoma